Thinking of Syria and Other Things


Image via Wikipedia

Lately, I’ve been feeling quite discouraged from writing about matters that concern social policy, politics, and other social issues related to us domestically or those in remote places in the world. In my field of Communication Studies, one adage will forever remain imprinted in my psyche: “One cannot not communicate”. As my readers (how ever few I envision you to be), you have been communicating to me the message that you don’t care too much for my misanthropic outlook on life. This has been evidenced to me through your ever so loyal and gracious enthusiasm for retweeting to Twitter and reposting to Facebook my pieces written on fashion or other frivolous cultural accounts, while my op-ed pieces seem to go largely unnoticed. Don’t get me wrong friends, I am eternally grateful to you, but I’ve been reflexive regarding this matter quite a bit as of late, and I came to the realization that it’s not you, it’s me. I understand that many times I come across as a radical at best and a liberal whack job at worst. In fact, I admire your prudence, and believe you to be wise for not jumping to repost my uncanonical rants for fear those ideas may come across as your own personal views. However, I’ve let the show of enthusiasm for one genre of my pieces rather than all (there goes my Type A personality again) get me down, and it’s led me to lose sight of the purpose of this blog and the reason for it’s inception in the first place.

Other than serving as a cathartic and creative outlet for me, which I was in desperate need of under the constant stress of grad school, this blog was also created because I felt I had a lot to say about many things. In addition, I felt as a multidimensional woman of this world, who cared just as much about politics in all corners of the world as she did about fashion, that focus on multidimensionality was missing in the other blogs I followed. It seemed if a blog targeted towards women was about fashion and celebrities (because most of them are) that was the limit of that blog’s capacity. As if women who care about fashion do not (or should not) concern themselves with the serious issues affecting people around the world. Similarly, I noticed the blogs about hard news and politics, were mostly geared to a male or gender neutral audience. Suffice it to say this really pissed me off and therefore, ta-dah! This site was born.

Now, with that major chunk of digression behind us, allow me to weave together the connecting pieces and tell you how the above ventilation has to do with the title of this post which happens to be about Syria. After keeping up with the civil uprisings in Syria since it first took place on January 26, 2011, I have been fighting the urge to write about the events for fear of boring you with yet another sad news account of which none of us can do anything about anyways. Then, as the Human Rights Watch confirmed the death toll to be over 1,100 yesterday, I felt a sense of guilt circulating within myself for neglecting to take it seriously. You see my friends, this sense of guilt was bittersweet for me, because although I felt a sense of shame for neglecting to write my thoughts on an issue of significance to me, the guilt I felt also helped me to realize why I write in the first place. I do not write because I want you to notice (although I must admit, it hits me like a delightful stamp self validation when you do), rather I write because I breathe, think, cry and laugh with the written word, and I feel that if I don’t give voice to those who are in desperate need of it then I don’t deserve to write in a public forum at all.

If that doesn’t put things into perspective for you, consider the hundreds of Syrians who’ve been killed since January because they are forbidden from expressing their opinions on political issues as freely as I do here. Consider the facts, as they’ve just been confirmed by Human Rights groups, that government controlled Syrian police officers are being killed in cold blood for refusing to shoot their innocent brothers and sisters who participate in peaceful protests on the streets. If I don’t write about this, who will? I sure as hell know most of my facebook friends, who flooded my news feed with “news” about a San Francisco Giants baseball game on the very same day (likely unbeknown to them) as the recent looming shutdown of our government are very unlikely to go out of their way to research the killings of innocent civilians who are forbidden from attending similar social events that they enjoy. American media outlets almost ensure this happens by neglecting to uphold the original blueprint of their existence, which is to serve as a liaison between the government and the masses by giving them the necessary information they need to be active members of a democracy.

And so, my dear friends (if any be remaining at this point of my exhaustive plea), while the President of Syria, Bashar al-Assad, continues his nefarious crackdown on his own people, I suggest we issue a crackdown as well. Let’s crackdown on ourselves, and dare to encourage one another to engage in a discourse which we typically do not commission. This is a basic right we enjoy living in a free society. Let’s stop taking advantage of it.

You can start by reading this gripping account on the Syrian dissent here

This entry was posted in impeccableINSPIRATION, impeccableNEWS, impeccablePOLITICS, impeccableWORLD and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

